He’s turning 18, where has the time gone?

To my wonderful, amazing boyfriend of many years:

I have watched you grow from a scrawny 12 year old boy, into a strong, handsome young man. Now that you’ve turned 18, there are so many things you can do now!

  1. Legally vote in elections
  2. Have alcohol in the Bahamas, Europe, and Canada
  3. Join the military
  4. Buy cigarettes (please don’t ew)
  5. Get a tattoo
  6. Go skydiving! (Date idea, perhaps?)
  7. Buy fireworks
  8. Buy lottery tickets
  9. Be called into jury duty
  10. Kill a man, and go to adult jail
  11. Go bungee jumping!
  12. Book a cruise
  13. Go dancing at a club
  14. Become a stripper
  15. Change your name
  16. Book a hotel room
  17. Get life insurance
  18. Get married

I know you probably won’t check a lot of these off the list, but I hope that one day we can do the fun ones together. Especially that last one. And #14.

But I know this isn’t all fun. It’s scary. Now, you’re legally considered an adult when you don’t feel any different. You look around and everything has changed. Your puppy is now gray in the face and your mom has a few more wrinkles. Grandparents and other relatives are dying, and it all feels like too much. I’m only a year (and a month) younger than you, so I get it. I’m right there with you. You’re off to college in the fall, and I will miss you. But for now, you’re still in high school and the world is your oyster.

You’ve made it to 18, and I couldn’t be more proud of the man you’ve become. Happy birthday, Eric. I love you with all my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

