College: the big decision

College has been looming over me since the 6th grade. Powerpoints and guidance counselor meetings, pamphlets and career match quizzes; everywhere I turned, college was thrown in my face. For the longest time, I was so sure of what I was going to do. I was going to go into the horse industry. Then I wanted to be a veterinary technician. When I entered high school, I decided I would be a veterinarian or a wildlife biologist. Science is reliable and structured, and I would get to help animals, whatever career I choose.

But in the back of my head there’s always been a nagging voice that urges me to do something in the humanities and arts. I like to draw and paint, and I love to write. History and English are my favorite subjects. But I’m not 100% sure that’s the right path to go down.

I know there are ways I could combine science and humanities. I could work at a natural history museum, teaching and studying the history of science. I could be a scientific illustrator, and paint illustrations for textbooks and the like. I could write for magazines like National Geographic, and write about all kinds of things: archaeology, zoology, climate change, culture, art.

There are just so many things I love about the world, and so many different things I want to do. I have to make some big decisions with my education soon.

I just hope I make the right ones.

Leave a Reply

